Jeff And Jane Hudson ‎– Flesh – Doppel LP


Lieferzeit: 3 - 5 Werktage

Nur noch 1 vorrätig

Artikelnummer: YCR/DE015 Kategorie: Schlüsselworte: , , ,


Jeff & Jane Hudson are a husband/wife duo from Boston who got their start in the art punk band The Rentals in 1977. The Rentals broke up in 1980 and Jeff & Jane relocated to Manhattan where they opened for Suicide and quickly signed with No Wave label Lust/Unlust. Their first single No Clubs was released in late 1980 and showcased a lo-fi avant garde all synthesizer band. The World Trade EP came next in 1981, expanding their brand of post-nuclear electronic pop. Their vocals qualities were distinct; Jeff quivery and drug-addled while Jane more detached and icy.

The duo reached their pinnacle with 1982′s seminal Flesh. Perhaps one of the United States biggest achievements in the entire “synth” movement of the 80s. The music was electro-pop employing early Roland synths and the TR-808 drum machine. Jeff’s lyrics flirted with technology and politics, while Jane wrote about cultural and psychological situations. Completely self produced by the band, the record has since been oft-cited as a groundbreaking and pivotal LP of the post-punk era, who’s original copies are now heavily coveted by collectors. Completing the discography is the Special World 7″ released in 1983 before the band emigrated back to Boston and stopped recording and performing.

This deluxe edition has been remastered for vinyl by George Horn at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley directly from the original master tapes. LP 1 is the Flesh LP and LP 2 features the No Clubs and Special World singles plus the World Trade EP. Each double LP set comes in a gatefold sleeve with unreleased photos, original artwork and a lyrics sheet. The front cover is a photo by Mark Morrisroe, downtown NY 80s punk and art photographer. This the first time since the original issue that Flesh is reappearing on vinyl format and the first wide-scale digital and CD release these recordings have yet to see.

All LPs come with a free digital download card!


A1 3 X 3
A2 Fat Of The Land
A3 Mystery Chant
A5 Operating Instruction
B1 Pound, Pound
B2 Up From The Hell
B3 Help Me
B4 Small World
B5 Los Alamos
C1 Cat Scan
C3 The Girl From Ipanema
C4 Information
C5 Guatemala
C6 Abadan
D1 Special World
D2 Mother Told Me
D3 No Clubs
D4 Dream